Jet Lag, Stairs, and Settling In (London Day 1)

image

Guess what Guess what Guess what?! I’m in London you guys! *happy dance*

I don’t know if I’ve ever experienced going to a place like this for the second time. The first time, everything is new and you’re just trying to take as much of it in before it all disappears. Now, there’s still a sense of surrealness (I can’t believe I’m here!) but also mixed with a sense of familiarity (I can’t believe I’m here again!) It’s interesting traveling with a group of people who haven’t been here before, too, apart from the professor. I get to see their first reactions to things and remember how strange and wonderful an experience this all is.

There aren’t many stories to tell yet since the first day was mostly traveling and settling in. Our flight was 9 1/2 hours, direct, and I didn’t sleep at all. I tried. I honestly did. But between back pain and dry eyes, I couldn’t make it happen. This made it pretty difficult to stay awake until nighttime, as we got in at around noon and it doesn’t get dark here until about 8 or 9.

We’re staying in flats called Richmond Court, located near Holland Park and Kensington. I have one roommate, Faith, who I had met a few times in the weeks leading up to this trip to get acquainted. Our room is aaaall the way on the top floor, which is probably the fourth or fifth floor, and is only accessible by… you guessed it: stairs. Hauling up our luggage and groceries was killer. But I expect to have massive stair-climbing thighs by the end of this trip. I will conquer them!

Speaking of our flat, here are some of the only pictures I’ve taken so far…

image

The view outside our window. That building down there is actually an old church.

Our kitchen. The open door around the corner there goes to the bathroom.

Our kitchen. The open door around the corner there goes to the bathroom.

Our living/dining area.

Our living/dining area.

Our bedroom area. I slept on the bottom bunk last night, but I might try out the top one just to see.

Our bedroom area. I slept on the bottom bunk last night, but I might try out the top one just to see.

I didn't get a pic of the outside of our building, but here's a map showing our location in London.

Google maps view of where we’re located in London. 

Yesterday my roommate and I did a little grocery shopping since we have a kitchen and don’t have to eat out all the time. We showered, unpacked, and walked around the neighborhood with the rest of the class a little bit. For dinner we got pre-made sandwiches from Tesco, which is like the market Fresh & Easy. And then we did as many creative things as our groggy brains could think of in a futile effort to stay awake. I think we finally crashed at around 7PM. We woke up this morning around 5:30.

And that’s really it so far. Today the class plan is to walk further into the City and tour a museum. Faith and I then plan to go out to the Harry Potter studios tour. So more updates and pictures to come!

Leave a Reply

